The state’s assembly on Friday passed a bill raising the minimum legal age – as of now 18 – to purchase tobacco or e-cigarettes. The bill will now go before Gov. David Ige, whose mark would make it law in Hawaii as of January 1, 2016.
Forty-six U.S. states allow the offer of tobacco to anybody 18 or more established, while Alabama, Alaska, New Jersey and Utah oblige clients to be no less than 19. Many urban areas and towns, including New York, have officially raised the base lawful age for tobacco buys to 21.
“This strong step will lessen smoking among youngsters, spare lives and help make the cutting edge without tobacco,” said Matthew L. Myers, president of the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, in an arranged proclamation.
“Increasing the sale age to 21 will reduce tobacco use among youth and young adults, age groups when nearly all smoking begins and that are heavily targeted by the tobacco industry,” he stated.
It was not clear Monday whether Ige would sign the bill, even though on Friday he endorsed enactment banning the utilization of e-cigarettes in all areas where smoking is illicit. A representative for the senator told CNN in an email that he would require eventually to audit the bill.
The enactment comes after a report a month ago from the Institute of Medicine that said banishing individuals under age 21 from purchasing cigarettes would have noteworthy general medical advantages. Setting the base age at 21 across the country would bring about almost a quarter-million less unexpected losses and 50,000 less passing from lung malignancy among individuals conceived somewhere around 2000 and 2019, the report assessed.
Teenagers, especially those between 15 and 17, are most prone to cigarette addiction at a time when their brains are still developing, based on the study, which was conducted at the request of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
If the minimum legal age for tobacco use was increased to 21, the prevalence of smokers among today’s teens would reduce by 12% when they become adults, the report stated.
Under the Hawaii bill, anyone caught breaking the law would face a $10 fine for the first offense and a $50 fine or community service for a second offense.
A 2014 survey of Hawaii voters discovered that 71% favored raising the legal age to 21.